St John Plessington Catholic College

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

Head of Department: Miss A Austin

Exam Board Pearson

Qualification: BTEC Level 2 Tech Award in Health & Social Care

Component 2: Health & Social Care Services & Values (Pearson Set Assignment worth 30%)

You will explore health and social care services and how they meet the needs of service users. You will also study the skills, attributes and values required when giving care which are common across the sector (some of which are transferable to other sectors that involve interactions with clients or customers).

Component 3: Health & Wellbeing (Exam worth 40%)

This is a synoptic component, bringing in new content and revisiting the content from assignments. You will increase your knowledge and understanding of human lifespan development and life events, sources and types of support, health and social care services, the skills, attributes and values that contribute to care and the barriers and personal obstacles to accessing services. You will also explore physiological and lifestyle indicators in relation to health and wellbeing, as well as examining person-centred approaches to make recommendations to improve an individual’s health and wellbeing.


The BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care is run over two years and content is broken down into components. Assignments and the exam are graded from Pass (level 4), Merit (level 5.5), Distinction (level 7) and Distinction* (level 8.5).

The qualification consists of three components that give you the opportunity to explore how children develop from 0-5 years, as well as develop key skills and gain an insight into the sector. 

Components 1 & 2 are internally assessed. These are set by Pearson, marked by the centre and moderated by Pearson. The set assignments for both components have to be completed in supervised conditions in a timetabled assessment window. 

Component 3 is an exam unit that is set and marked by Pearson, completed under supervised conditions and timetabled by the exam board. 

In order to be awarded a qualification, a learner must complete and achieve an outcome for all three components. The overall grade is a direct aggregation of performance across individual components, with each component weighted according to the GLH. 


Successful completion of this course will help you progress to Level 3 vocational and academic qualifications. You may wish to study Health and Social Care in Sixth Form where we offer the BTEC Level 3 Health and Social Care Extended Certificate; this is equivalent to one A Level and will further develop and extend your knowledge in Health and Social Care. On successful completion of the BTEC Level 3 course, you are then eligible to apply to university to continue your studies or vocations. 

The course will also help build your skills, knowledge and understanding of the Health and Social Care Sector. These transferable skills are needed to enter the world of work in fields such as: the ambulance service, dentistry, medicine, healthcare science, midwifery, social work, nursing, pharmacy, public health, psychological professions.