St John Plessington Catholic College

First Award - Level 2

Edexcel BTEC Tech Award Level 2 in Health & Social Care is equivalent to one GCSE.

Thinking about working with children, older people or individuals with disabilities? Do you want to improve your communication skills? Do you care about other people and how our society develops? Health and social care can give you these opportunities.

This course will equip you with a broad understanding and knowledge of the health and social care sector. The topics that you study will enable you to improve on your research and application skills, organisational skills and communication skills. You will develop personal skills and attitudes essential for your progression onto Level 3 courses.

How is the course structured?

The BTEC Level 2 in Health & Social Care is run over one year and content is broken down into three components, with one being externally assessed. The size of each unit is determined by how many guided learning hours (GLH) have been set for delivery and to successfully complete the course, you must complete a total of 120 GLH in the one year period. You must complete the selected four units in order to fulfil the course requirements.

Components studied over the one year:
Component 1: Human Lifespan Development (36 GLH). 

Component 2: Health & Social Care Services and Values (36 GLH).
Component 3: Health & Wellbeing (48 GLH).


Units 3 is externally assessed. This will be a written Set task and will last for 2 hours.
All assessment for Units 1 and 2 is made through completion of coursework. Each of these internally assessed units has a number of assignments to complete in order to fulfil the individual unit requirements. Within assignments, tasks will be completed to PASS, MERIT or DISTINCTION level. Each individual assignment must be completed to at least a pass level in order to pass the whole unit.

On successful completion of a unit, points are awarded depending upon the level of completion and the size of the unit (GLH). At the end of the course, the points will be added from all four units to make a combined total points score.

Overall PASS - Equivalent to C grade.
Overall MERIT - Equivalent to B grade. Overall

DISTINCTION - Equivalent to A grade.

Progression Routes

Many students who study Health & Social Care Level 2 go on to study Level 3. They also choose form a wide selection of other Level 3 courses such as Sociology, Psychology and English. From there it can be used to gain entry to university to study Nursing, Midwifery, Social Work and Teaching.